William Golding was born in Cornwall in 1911. He was educated at Marlborough Grammar School and at Brasenose College, Oxford, after which he worked as an actor, a lecturer, a small craft sailor, a musician, and finally a school-master. A now rare volume, Poems, appeared in 1934. He joined the Royal Navy in 1940, and saw action against battleships, submarines and aircraft. He was present at the sinking of the Bismarck, and finished the war as a Lieutenant in command of a rocket ship. After the war he returned to Bishop Wordsworth's School in Salisbury and was there when his first novel, Lord of the Flies, was published in 1954. He gave up teaching in 1961, and went on to write twelve more novels, including The Inheritors, Pincher Martin, and The Spire.

Golding's play The Brass Butterfly was produced at the New Theatre, Oxford in 1958, directed by Alistair Sim. Lord of the Flies was filmed by Peter Brook in 1963. Golding listed his hobbies as music, chess, sailing, archaeology and classical Greek (which he taught himself). Many of these subjects appear in his two collections of essays, The Hot Gates, and A Moving Target. He won the Booker Prize for his novel Rites of Passage in 1980, and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1983. At this time he moved from the Wiltshire village where he had lived for half a century, to a fine house near Truro in Cornwall. He was knighted in 1988. He died at his home in the summer of 1993, leaving a draft of a novel, The Double Tongue, which was published posthumously.

Complete works:

Lord of the Flies
The Inheritors
Pincher Martin
Free Fall
The Pyramid
The Scorpion God
Darkness Visible
The Paper Men
Rites of Passage
Close Quarters
Fire Down Below
The Double Tongue
To the Ends of the Earth
(a revised text of Rites of Passage, Close Quarters and Fire Down Below in one volume)

The Hot Gates
A Moving Target

An Egyptian Journal

The Brass Butterfly


nigelname.gif (920 bytes)

Nigel Williams was born in Cheshire in 1948, educated at Highgate School and Oriel College, Oxford and is married with three sons. His first stage play was Double Talk at Square One Theatre in 1976.

His subsequent stage plays include:-
Class Enemy (Royal Court 1978, presented all over the world and won him the Plays and Players Most Promising Playwright Award); Trial Run (Oxford Playhouse 1980); Line 'Em (National 1980); Sugar and Spice (Royal Court 1980); WCPC (Half Moon 1982); My Brother's Keeper (Greenwich 1985); Country Dancing (RSC Stratford 1986); Nativity (Tricycle Theatre, London 1989); Lord of the Flies, an adaptation of the novel by William Golding (RSC 1995). Harry & Me, his latest play, was staged by The Royal Court Thetre in 1996. A stage adaptation of The Last Romantics premiered at the Greenwich Theatre also in 1996.

For Television and Film:-
Talking Blues (BBC 1977); Real Live Audience (BBC 1977); Baby Love (BBC 1981); Johnny Jarvis (BBC 1983); Charlie (Central 1984 repeated in two parts January 1987); Breaking Up (BBC 1986); Kremlin Farewell (BBC2 1990); Centrepoint (4 part series, Channel Four 1990). His film, The Last Romantics, based on the careers of Sir Arthur Quiller Couch and FR Leavis, was transmitted on BBC2. His adaptation of his novel Witchcraft has been transmitted by the BBC, as has his film adaptation of the William Horwood novel, Skallagrigg. He has also written the adaptation of The Canterville Ghost for Paramount. He adapted his novel, The Wimbledon Poisoner, as a two part television series which was transmitted on BBC1 in December 1994. His TV Film, It Could Be You, was transmitted by the BBC in 1995.

My Life Closed Twice (1977) - won the Somerset Maughan Award; Jack Be Nimble (1980); Star Turn (1985); Black Magic (1986); Witchcraft (1987); The Wimbledon Poisoner (1990); They Came From SW19 (1992); East of Wimbledon (1993); Two and a Half Men in a Boat (1993); Scenes from a Poisoner's Life (1994); From Wimbledon to Waco (1995); Stalking Fiona (1997).

Photograph by Chris Love 1980

twowall.gif (14845 bytes)

[ Main Menu ] [ Licensing ] [ Introduction ]

RSC Production Photographs John Haynes
Stage adaptation by Nigel Williams published by Faber and Faber
Performance rights Simpson Fox Associates/Robert Fox Ltd

Website designed by Dewynters 1997